3 comments

In the last few years, all I hear about is that someone is afraid of clowns. They say, “Don’t wear your clown makeup to my event — it might scare someone!” I think we might now have a society that does not know how to laugh and takes itself too seriously! Our society has movies, books and websites about evil clowns. I think our society does not know how to have hope – because it is much easier to tear down someone else’ efforts than put in their own effort.

It is certain that one rotten apple spoils the clown audience! American audience seems to only entertained by their ability to kick someone off the stage! The judges will pretty much always decide that there’s no talent.

Historically, clowns have been around since the dawn of time. Think court jesters of the dark ages. Even tribal communities have a fool character. And now people are claiming being afraid of clowns? What a fad fear. Guess who are the people who claim fear when I am in clown character in the community? Fear is not shown by young kids, but teenage girls and mothers in their late 20s. Can you say D-R-A-M-A? Maybe they are trying to put on a bigger show than I.

Please consider my clown character, “Pat in the Hat.” My clown has been around since the 90s. My clown sees children that loves clowns! The greater world will never see what I have seen I have seen – kids laughing and laughing till the walls came down. After literally entertaining for thousands and thousands of parties and special events, I have seen a world of kids that love clowns. I never see them go running or go for the hills because of their fears. Check me out at http://www.ballooncreations.com

I say let us play, let us hope! Let yourself laugh a bit instead of getting your shorts in a bunch!

Posted June 11, 2012 by ballooncreations1 in Uncategorized

3 responses to “

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mr. Hat, There are those of us who had bad experiences with clowns as children. I’ve been to a circus only once in my life and that was when I was a child. The clowns there scared the living daylights out of me and I had to leave early in tears. I don’t know what it was–the make-up, the garish colors, the act–but whatever it was seared in my mind that clowns are scary. Rationally I know it doesn’t make sense but I still get tense when I’m around clowns in full make-up, costume, and the like.

    You point is certainly valid. People do just need to lighten up and no doubt there are those drawn to drama. I’m glad there are people like you wanting to bring joy to the world through the art of clowning. And yes, I do consider it an art. As with any art, I can choose to participate or not and I choose not to participate with clowning. That doesn’t lessen anything about it or change how I view you or your work. Sure, I could see a therapist about it, but I’ve got bigger things in my life to deal with first.

    I have no doubt that you have a finger (or big red nose) on the pulse of your audience. I’m happy that so many kids find enjoyment in what you do. What a cool way to impact the world. Just consider that some of us, likely a very small percentage, do have a “valid” fear of clowns apart from anything Stephen King has written.

    spak-

    • Hello Spak,
      Thank you so much for your reply. It’s been a while!

      I agree, there are childhood incidents with clowns that can affect a lot of people. Fears are fears, and do impact our actions and behaviors. Yes, even clowns in character do things they should not, and that can create fears. I strongly believe curiosity and fear are strong cousins, right next to each other. But I am speaking against a couple things, which you understand well. Unlike you, people blow things out of proportion. Also, party planners, guests and parents will generally act inappropriately when dealing with kids with fears. 1) They loudly state to the child, “You’re afraid, aren’t you!” Well, even if the child was just curious and not afraid, the child is drawn to fear because of the parent’s suggestion. 2.) Some parents will push the child towards the clown, and not honor the child at all. I back away, naturally. 3.) The whole party can come to a screeching halt when the parents are trying to “fix” the situation when a child has a fear reaction. I don’t agree that one child’s feelings in the moment should become central to the group’s experience. Though adults are all drawn towards the PC attitude that each child matters, they should also pay attention that the performer is trying to bring the kids on a fun journey and no need to stop. 4) I also think that parents should consider reassuring the kids that a seeing a performer is ok and allow the child to overcome the fear and join in the fun. That usually doesn’t happen either, as the parents overly cater to the fear.

      I always, and I mean always, will cater to easing all of the kid’s experience with a performer. I want to make all kids comfortable and enjoying themselves. I position the group of kids so they can feel they can back off if they want. I kneel down to the child’s level as often as I can. I cater my humor to the kids and not to the adults. Some children in any audience, especially 16-36 months, will react to something going on, no matter what it is. Some kids don’t like ruckus laughter. Enough kids don’t like someone with a tall hat. Some kids will cry when they see an adult with a beard. There’s only so much I can do, and I’d like to see more parents saying it’s ok to enjoy the clown too.

      There is a strong trend against clowns – – I see less makeup on clowns across the country, less conventions, less clown interest groups, etc etc etc. It’s sad but true. I will do as much as I can. Though I truly enjoy it and I know lots of people enjoy it, I don’t see the traditional clown character being around much anymore. There is always opportunities for fun characters to make young audiences laugh.

  2. Pat,

    I just took a side road while catching up on Facebook tonight and had the pleasure of reading your blog entry about the “fear” of clowns. Interesting and wonderful perspective.

    I hope you are prospering and find joy in what you do.

    I’m glad to have known you friend. I treasure memories of camp, CLF and bible studies together.

    Gary

Leave a Reply

